The Magic Circle 2019 Awards Ceremony

02 September 2019

The Magic Circle held its annual awards this evening at its Headquarters in Central London.

In a ceremony compered by Debbie McGee MIMC and featuring on stage performances by Scott Penrose MIMC, Megan Swann MIMC, Alan Hudson MIMC, Arturo Brachetti MIMC and Ben Hart MIMC, the full house saw the following stars of magic collect their much deserved awards:

The David Devant Award for Services to International Magic

Winner: Arturo Brachetti MIMC – The Italian superstar of quick change and illusion continues to enjoy an illustrious career that has won acclaim and awards around the world. The Magic Circle’s President, Scott Penrose said ‘Arturo remains one of our most unique and talented performers and I am delighted that he will be adding our most prestigious award to his already full cabinet of trophies’.

Arturo Brachetti

The Maskelyne Award for services to British Magic

Winner: Anthony Owen MIMC – Anthony died suddenly earlier this year but his legacy of award winning and ground breaking television and stage productions will live on for a very long time. He will be much missed by the world of magic and of course his family.

The Makers of Playing Cards Chris Latham Card Magic Award

A new bursary provided by the late Chris Latham MMC with the Worshipful Company of Makers of Playing Cards created to benefit magicians under the age of 25 in the advancement of playing card magic.

Winner: Dr Will Houstoun MIMC – Will has created a masterclass in card magic to benefit ten young magicians over the next year.

The John Nevil Maskelyne Prize

A prize for noteworthy contributions by a member of the magic fraternity to the art or literature of magic.

Winner: Richard Young MIMC – Richard created the landmark series called ‘The Magicians’ Podcast’. The 100 episodes featured in depth interviews with magicians from around the world finishing in June 2019 with an epic and much anticipated conversation with David Copperfield MIMC.

The Carlton Award for Comedy

Winner Alan Hudson MIMC

Hoffmann Memorial Lecture Award

For research into subjects related to the history, theory and practice of magic.

Winner: James Ward MMC

The Cecil Lyle Award

For Best Trick published in the Magic Circular

Winner: Joseph Atmore AIMC

The Magic Circle Silver Wand

Awarded to David Hatch AIMC and Darren Martin MIMC for services to The Magic Circle.

Congratulations to all and thanks to the artistes and everyone who volunteered their time to create this special event including The Magic Circle Awards Committee, close-up magic performances by Kerry Scorah MIMC, event production and front of house coordination by Katherine Rhodes MIMC, Kevin Bird MIMC and Scott Penrose MIMC. Stage technical support provided by Henri White AIMC, Stuart Kelly AI, David Agrawal MMC and Dave Andrews MIMC. Photography, venue and box office logistics coordinated by Darren Martin MIMC and The Magic Circle Foundation. Video recording by Bob Hamilton MIMC. Front of house support by Kim Robinson MMC and Harold Straker AIMC and special thanks to Debbie McGee MIMC, Brian Sibley MIMC and Kaz and his Lamkaster crew.

For more information, email

Latest news