At a glittering ceremony held at the Headquarters of The Magic Circle in Central London this evening, Jack Delvin, President of The Magic Circle presented the winners of The Magic Circle Awards 2012

The Maskelyne Award: Given for services to British magic. Winner: Derren Brown.

Derren began his UK television career in December 2000 with a series of specials called Mind Control. Since redefining the genre of magic for intelligent, modern audiences, he has become synonymous with the art of psychological manipulation.

The Carlton Award: Presented to a performer for outstanding comedy in magic. Winner: Paul Daniels.

Paul Daniels is without doubt one of the most accomplished magicians in the World, and certainly one of the most exciting. Add to that a unique comedy style and you have a complete entertainer and one of the funniest men in show-business.

The David Devant Award: Given to those who have made a significant contribution in advancing the art of magic or who have given outstanding service to magic internationally. Winner: Jim Steinmeyer

Jim is responsible for popular illusions featured by professional magicians around the world, and special effects in theatrical shows from Broadway to Las Vegas. Through his designs and his writing on historical magic, he's been credited with creating the "defining illusions in contemporary magic:" deceptions featured by Doug Henning, David Copperfield, Siegfried and Roy, The Pendragons, Lance Burton and many others.

The John Nevil Maskelyne Prize: Given to the winner for noteworthy contributions to the art or literature of magic. Winner: Andi Gladwin

The Cecil Lyle Award: Given to the author of the best trick published in The Magic Circular: Winner: Walford Taylor

The Hoffmann Memorial Lecture: Awarded to ‘encourage research into subjects related to the history, theory and practice of magic’: Winner: David Fung

Silver Wand was awarded to Mike O'Brien for outstanding service to The Magic Circle and specifically for 50 Years of participation in Meet the Magic Circle.

The Awards Roll of Honour