The other contestants were Richard Pinner, Mark Shortland, Jonathan Shotton, Justin Monehen and Etienne Pradier.  The awards were presented by Magic Circle President Ali Bongo.   The judges were Dad's Army creator and script writer Jimmy Perry OBE, TV producer and author John Fisher, and Magic Week publisher and former Stage Magician of the Year Duncan Trillo.

A packed theatre of 150 at The Magic Circle Headquarters in London's Euston area included both magicians and a varied group of men, women and children who enjoyed watching more than three hours of first-rate magical entertainment.

Established in 2000 by former Magic Circle President Michael Bailey, The Magic Circle Stage Magician of the Year is awarded every two years.  The last winner was the only woman to have won the title, Romany, who was in attendance at the contest and described the boost the award gave to her career.