Winners invariably go on to have successful careers in show business...

Every other year, The Magic Circle, through its Youth Initiative, holds a Competition to find The Young Magician of the Year. The Competition, which was first held in 1961, is open to young people between the age of 14 and 18 years.

We are pleased to announce that Michael Jordan won The Young Magician of the Year Competition 2009.

Second place was Megan Knowles-Bacon and Carl Scutt was placed third.

The Competition has been held biennially since 1961 and has so far produced 25 winners, (there have twice been joint winners). All except two of them have gone on to successful careers in entertainment; the others are a doctor and a lawyer. Those winners who have gone on to make very successful careers in show business include the first winner, Johnny Hart, who in 1961 appeared at the London Palladium, subsequently presented his magic in Las Vegas for many years and now lives in Denmark where he advises on magic in films and television; Russ Stevens, joint winner in 1977, starred in the Mystique Illusion Show in Blackpool for nearly 8 years; Richard Cadell became a highly successful illusionist and is now Sooty’s presenter; Andrew O’Connor, who won in 1981, has developed a highly successful career, starring in the touring production of "Barnum", producing and presenting numerous TV shows and has recently made his film directorial debut; Dominic Wood took the title in 1995, going on to become a favourite children’s television presenter. In 2007 the title was taken by 16 year old Ben Hart, and the previous two winners, Paul Dabek in 2003 and Steve Dela in 2005, are also making names for themselves as rising stars of magic